Our last run – photos by state.

We travelled several states on this last run (thirteen!), we endured a pretty gnarly snow storm, and had some equipment break down on us. In the end we drove, made our deliveries on time, drove, made our pick up on time, drove, made more deliveries on time, drove some more and got home at a decent time. In one piece. It was a somewhat exhausting week, but we’re alive and well, and we didn’t hit anything. This equals success every time! I must admit we are very ready for a little time off!

I made a point to take a few photos in each state we passed through along our route, with the exception of two, because I was asleep. Here they are:

Wisconsin:

image

Winter work gloves for a chilly Wisconsin pre-trip inspection.

image

First light starting to appear along Hwy 151 in Wisconsin.

image

Pretty bluffs near Platteville, WI.

We started our trip in Wisconsin, as we always do, by picking up some paper at 1:00 am and hitting the road. The majority of the drive through Wisconsin was in the dark, but it lit up a bit before getting to Iowa.

Iowa:

image

Bridge over the Mississippi River, just before crossing into Dubuque, Iowa.

image

Simple beauty along I-80 in Iowa.

image

Adam and I switched in Iowa, and I stepped out into the bitter cold to exercise, where my jump rope broke. The little plastic pieces lining the rope flew all over the place... it was pretty funny!

image

It was cold so I wore tall socks. I look like such a dork sometimes! But it's fun.

The drive through Iowa was pretty uneventful, which can be a good thing!

Nebraska:

image

Sunset in Nebraska. I went to bed just after taking this photo and slept through the rest of the state as Adam drove.

Wyoming:

image

Approaching a tunnel along I-80 in Wyoming. See that color? This is why I enjoy the 2am - 2pm shift - the morning golden hour.

image

Some places in Wyoming are wide open and you can see forever.

Utah:

image

Near Echo canyon's red rocks. Still cruising along I-80.

image

Amazing Utah mountains.

image

The tree sculpture in the Bonneville Salt Flats.

I love Utah. I think it’s my favorite state to drive through. It’s only 200 miles long when traveling I-80 but it’s got so much diversity in terrain in that short distance. And those mountains!!

Nevada:

image

I'm winding down in my pjs, getting ready for bed.

image

Near Reno when Adam found an air leak and we head to a repair shop.

image

Brand new air brake chamber! So glad Adam caught the leak before it stranded us on the highway!

I’m usually sleeping through Reno, but with the maintenance downtime we needed for the new brake chamber, we switched there. So I got to see Reno’s lights at night! Pretty! (But too difficult to get a photo).

California:

image

A bridge near Sacramento.

image

Waiting to get unloaded. Enjoying my new Midwest Carriers hat!

image

Truck stop kitties in Westley, CA along I-5.

We made three deliveries in California near Oakland, then made a pick-up and head out, taking a more southern alternate route to avoid winter craziness in Wyoming. We ended up in snow anyway, but it was for a shorter stretch than if we’d driven through Wyoming.

Arizona:

image

I took a break at a rest stop where I could walk out onto the rocks. I couldn't resist laying down in the sunshine for a few minutes.

image

Arizona color.

image

Just about to enter New Mexico. This is along I-40.

We don’t drive through Arizona very often, so it’s a treat when we do. Unfortunately the mountainous section in the western half of the state was bathed in pitch-dark under an almost-new moon.

New Mexico:

image

Hoping that's not snow up ahead!

image

New Mexico has some cool bridges along I-40. Some are simply painted bright colors, but it's a nice change.

image

That's a road-crew pickup truck. We had a flat!

image

Just loose from the rim, but no major damage, thankfully.

After getting the flat tire fixed, I went to bed. Adam drove through the rest of New Mexico, then veered off to Hwy 54 across the corner of Texas’s and Oklahoma’s panhandles and into Kansas.

This is where things got ugly.

Before getting the flat tire, we were on target to stay ahead of a snowstorm, but the two hours set us back and tossed us right into the thick of it instead.

When I woke up, Adam was driving 30 mph through snow and wind and yuck. Yay. My turn to drive!

Kansas:

image

I was able to catch this one photo during a mellow part of the storm through a town.

image

The storm finally winds down!

image

Icy aftermath. You would not believe the ice buildup we had on our truck!

I had a freak-out moment during the storm. It was a 2-lane road, at night, and my wipers were icing up and I couldn’t see. Snow was flying inside the truck through the window seals, and my arm was wet, the steering wheel was wet, and so was the door. The temp was in the low teens with horizontal wind carrying snow, making visibility difficult WITH working wipers! I pulled to the side of the road and had to get out of the truck with an ice scraper to rid the windshield of its ice chunks. I thought we were going to get rear-ended being parked on the side of a two-lane road in the middle of a snowstorm, but I had no choice. I don’t remember this, but Adam told me I was repeating, “we’re going to get hit! We’re going to get hit!”

I just really didn’t want to get hit, I guess!

Adam calmed me down and I got myself together. He decided to try cooling off the windshield. He turned the defroster and the heat off. Within 15 minutes we were chilly, but the snow was blowing right off of a clear windshield instead of sticking to it. Waaaay better!

Winter weather sucks when you have to drive in it! I’d much rather be playing in it…

Aftet the storm, things went pretty smooth.

Missouri:

image

Well... hello there, blue sky!

Missouri went ahead and gave us blue sky. Oh, and that put a smile on my face.

Iowa:

image

My only Iowa return trip photo.

I slept through Iowa on the way back.

Wisconsin:

image

Hello Oshkosh and all of our friends!

I woke up in Wisconsin early, delivered some cheese to two warehouses – one in Mayville and the other in Appleton. Then we drove back to Kaukauna and finished up our trip.

Now for a bit of down time!


Tonight I love heated side mirrors. Why can’t we have heated windshield wipers, too?

Thanks for reading and being a part of my journey!

With love,
Toots Magoots
(Robin Grapa)

2 thoughts on “Our last run – photos by state.

Leave a Reply

