The decision

First of all, thank you so much – all of you – that offered advice, suggestions and encouragement from my last post. It’s really nice to receive feedback. I feel so cared about… and kind of cared for by all of you. You are the best followers ever! :)

I bet you want to know what I decided to do! I decided to go with Adam…

…but guess what? I’m going with the trainer first.

I think it’s funny, really… like smiling and chuckling funny. It’s only funny because of how back-and-forth I was, trying to figure out what to do, all the while knowing it might not be up to me anyway, but trying to prepare in case it was. So I made a decision, and it felt good to decide. I was ready to go for it. As it turns out, they scheduled me to train over the road, which is okay. I’m totally fine with it. I didn’t even have to say anything, and nobody asked, so I’m just staying on the training path they described to me from the start.

I’m excited. It sounds like I’ll be hitting a longer route with the trainer later this weekend, so I have one more day with the local trainer, and that means one more solid day to practice backing. That’s a good thing.

Sidenote, tooting of my own horn moment: A dock worker today told my trainer that my back was better than some of the experienced drivers he sees come through. I’m cupping my head tightly so it doesn’t get much bigger! :) Now the challenge is to keep backing like that. That one was a good one, but I am still quite a far ways from being a pro… some of my backs (ones that dock worker didn’t see) certainly prove that point!

Just one other quick thing I wanted to share – going back to the comments you, as readers, left me on that last post. I found this so interesting. Most of you that haven’t driven a truck suggested I get as much time with the trainers as I can. Those of you that have driven or do drive a truck said I’d be totally fine and should go with Adam. I just thought that was actually pretty cool, and maybe sort of justified my wishy-washy decision-making abilities regarding that dilemma. I am a truck driver, but haven’t been doing it long enough to know much, so I was right smack in between those two thoughts. I agreed with all of you, so in all honesty… I’m kind of glad the final decision was made for me. It might be mentally tough to get through another week or two on a different schedule than Adam, especially knowing I won’t be able to talk to him as much as I have been, but dangit… we’ve made it this far. Even if it’s tough, we’ll get through it.

I just keep reminding us both that even though we might not be together, we’re still in this thing together, and it’s all going to be okay.


Tonight I love… reaching underneath the trailer and pulling the release arm for the locking jaws on the fifth wheel. I don’t know what it is about it, but I just really enjoy it. I’m weird. ;)

Thanks for reading and being a part of my journey!

With love,
Toots Magoots
(Robin Grapa)

5 thoughts on “The decision

  1. Love hearing your stories! I’m a old trucker, KLM, Werner, Schaeffer, steer, etc, love trucks, love hearing about your experiences. Cheers to the road.

  2. I’m finally getting to my messages and look at you go…..well on your way. Its no doubt you continue to thrive in life, your attitude, passion, and drive continue to take you to new levels each and every day. The industry is fortunate to have you. Remember to check out “Woman in Trucking”-I can see you on the front cover some day! Keep the stories coming and please be safe

  3. I’m glad you’re learning from all the sources available to you. And no, I don’t drive a truck. But I drive a car and I can tell you even car drivers could use a lot more training. Your post even suggests the benefits when you said you backed better than more experienced truckers. They may have made it through OK, but they clearly didn’t get the quality training that you did.

    It’s a short time in the grand scheme of things. I hope it’s not too hard and goes buy fast.

    PS. This weekend next year I will be heading for Campo. Woot! Starting to get a little more real…

Leave a Reply

