Day 143: Town favorites

Wed. 9/11/13
7.2 miles (Miles 2303.0 – 2310.2)
White Pass – Pipe Lake

image

Aaah, town. I tried to sleep in, but I was only partially successful. I would’ve liked to have slept until about 9 or 10am, but I was awake at 6am. I laid in bed and drifted in and out of sleep for about an hour, then finally just got up and went to the hotel lobby for coffee and a waffle. I organized and packed some gear up, then head to Tears’ room to do my food organizing for the next three resupplies. It felt good to get that taken care of. Our next three town stops will be so much easier with much less to do.

image

Add a snack here and some tortillas there, and these bags of food will take me to Canada, eh!

We ran around and did a few more chores before chowing down a calorie-rich lunch at Red Robin, and finally getting out of town and back on the trail at 4:30. I had a really nice time on these two nero days. I got a ton of stuff done and had a really nice time with Adam – mostly hitting up a late Taco Bell dinner and staying up late watching stupid TV… meaning shows we like that are totally mindless.

I decided today that since town stops seem to all be the same (resupply, eat, sleep), and since I don’t take many photos when I’m in town (who wants to see pictures of traffic and grocery store isles?), that I’d do something a little different. I thought about my top five favorite things about being in town between hiking sections. And I took photos for the fun of it.

#1. Adam. Seeing him is definitely the best part about town, hands down.

image

Adam (Aloha)

#2. Food. Lots of yummy food.

image

Food. Yum.

#3. Shower. Getting a 4-day trail grime washed off feels freaking awesome.

image

Shower.

#4. Bed. Sleeping in a bed full of squishy pillows is pretty great.

image

Bed. And pillows. Lots of pillows.

#5. Toilets. Particularly the flushy variety, obviously.

image

Toilet. Wow, I have a photo of a toilet in my blog. That's awesome!

Close runners up are wifi, clean laundry, tap water, and television. There’s many more, but these are the biggies.

I’ll have to put some thought into my top five favorite things about the trail, too. I’ll do that sometime soon.

We did hike a few miles to Pipe Lake today, passing by many smaller lakes and ponds that all reflected the forest lining their shores.

image

So calm and reflective.


Tonight I love silence. It is so quiet where we are camped. There isn’t even a breeze. All I hear is a small fish surface in the lake every once in a while. Peaceful…

image

Meadow and small lake.

image

I have new shoes, but I'm still wearing these old holey ones with over 1000 miles on them because they are so comfy. My feet have been feeling great!

image

Pretty light pink mushrooms.

Thanks for reading and being a part of my journey!

With love,
Toots Magoots
(Robin Grapa)

Leave a Reply

