Day 125 Special Edition: What I ate on the trail today

Day 125
Sat. 8/24/13

A big part of the day on trail is thinking about food, when to eat it, and then actually eating it. A blog follower gave Tears and I the idea to show everything we ate during one day. I thought it was brilliant (thanks, Bryan!), so below you will see photos and a description of everything I ate along the trail today.

6:30am. Breakfast at camp. Starbucks VIA coffee, maple & brown sugar oatmeal and trail-picked huckleberries. I called my breakfast “huckleberry upside-down un-crunch.”

image

image

8:15am. 2nd breakfast – also a walking snack – meaning I ate it while hiking and successfully not falling on my face to do so. Nature Valley Maple Brown Sugar granola bar.

image

8:30am. Trail magic from Goal Tech and David. Peanut butter-filled pretzel bites!

image

8:45am. Wild huckleberries picked along the shore of Mirror Lake. NOM NOM.

image

9:45am. Dried giant chunks of coconut that Goal Tech gave us. I’ve craved coconut on the trail a lot, but the only stuff I could find was the shredded variety, and it’s a pain in the buns to try to eat while hiking. I need to find more like this!

image

10:15am. A legitimate, sit-my-butt-down-and-eat kinda’ break. Crystal Light energy drink mix, that giant tube of meat is a de-freakin’-lucious landjaeger meat stick (thanks, Pappy!), Starburst JBs (jelly beans), chocolate-covered espresso beans and a bite-size squished but yummy Nutroll.

image

image

image

11:30am. Another walking snack. Cheese crackers.

image

12:30pm. Some JBs and a few huckles to hold me over until lunch break.

image

1:20pm. Lunch break! I don’t often cook for lunch, but what I had packed for lunch I wanted for dinner instead. So lunch appetizer was a stick of string cheese, lunch-lunch was mashed taters with chicken gravy, chicken bullion, crushed red pepper and topped with goldfish crackers. Lunch dessert was french toast-flavored goldfish grahams and a few leftovers from Goal Tech’s trail magic – a slice of dried mango, pretzel bites and half of a Snickers bar (Tears and I shared it).

image

image

image

Oh, and a cold coffee…

image

4:10pm. Wow, I can’t believe I waited this long to eat again! Granola bar walking snack.

image

5:30pm. Sit-down break. Smorgasbord.  Starbucks nasty very berry hibiscus refresher (too much flower taste), raspberry Emergen-c, mini Snickers, JBs, pretzel bites, french toast goldfish.

image

image

image

7:15pm. A walking snack. Squished, delicious, bite-size Nutroll.

image

8:00pm. Camp! Dinner! Refried beans on a tortilla with string cheese, Del Taco El Scorcho and Tapatio sauce (x2), finished off the french toast goldfish, and two Snickers minis. This is actually the first time having refried beans on the trail. I don’t know what the heck’s been wrong with me! Burritos were the best dinner EVER! Must. Get. More. *toot* 

image

image

That’s all, folks!

Be sure you check out Tears’ blog, too. She did the same thing today, so you can see what we both ate!  It’s exciting stuff! Tears’ blog: irunhikecamp.wordpress.com

Thanks for reading and being a part of my journey!

With love,
Toots Magoots
(Robin Grapa)

7 thoughts on “Day 125 Special Edition: What I ate on the trail today

  1. Hey Kid, sounds like your zero in Bend was a hoot!!! that is a good post of a typical food input for the day, along with about 2 liters of water i hope with that mixture you slept with your bag zipped open. Happy toots and trails to you!!! — Pappy —

  2. Nice story on the day’s food intake. Love those huckleberries!

    We’re having some unusual weather in Oregon — most locals say this rain is not usual for this time of year. I hope the weather is clear enough for you to have some wonderful views of Mt. Jeff and Mt. Hood. Jefferson Meadows and Paradise Park are some of the most incredible spots I’ve seen along the PCT on Ore. Good luck!

  3. Glad to contribute! Do you have a feel for how many calories you eat on an a enrage day? I’ve been trying to figure out the weight to calorie sweet spot for that.

    -GoalTech

Leave a Reply

