Day 103: Awaiting the stars

Fri. 8/2/13
11.5 miles (Miles 1506.5 – 1518.0)
Interstate 5 – PCT Mile 1518.0

image

My view from bed. Sweet dreams come easy with views like this.

It was tough getting out of town again, as usual. Finally after a few more small errands, a giant breakfast at the Black Bear Diner, and a delicious strawberry malt, we made our way back to the trailhead via the pickle jar and Aloha. We got going at about 2:30ish after visiting with Hunny Bunny, Sunshine, Bramble, Wakka Wakka, and Giddyup at the trailhead.

image

Seeing huge tables of good friends when you walk into a diner is great.

Rocks, Tears, G-bird and I hiked most of the afternoon together. We climbed strong and made it right here, to cowboy camp in the wide-open on a windy ridge. We enjoyed the sun dying the rocky ledges in front of us a golden, glowing color until it faded into a silhouette of black. Now I’m lying here, writing this blog entry and awaiting the night’s show of stars. Life out here is perfect.

image

The view from my sleeping bag

image

Tears, G-bird, and Rocks.

The views of Castle Crags started showing through the trees as we started hiking from the trailhead, and then we started climbing. The views opened up wider, displaying the sharp spires shooting up into the sky. I stumbled a few times as I stared up at them. We climb some more tomorrow, so I look forward to more good angles of those rocky walls. I’ll have to really watch my footing.

image

Castle Crags Wilderness

It was a long day and I feel like I accomplished a lot, but it still went by kind of fast. I fear the end of this trail coming too quickly. Stop. I won’t think about it for more than a second or two. Every day is new and I think I’ve done a pretty good job so far trying to cherish every moment… and I hope to never stop, even after it is over. I work at really soaking up every morsel from the good moments, and finding the joys in the tougher ones. They all add up to one amazing, beautiful journey – good moments, tough moments and eveything in between. Thru-hiking the PCT covers everything my soul craves – especially having Aloha being such a big part of it all.

So I don’t know why, but my mind is all over the place tonight. I’ve just been feeling really comfortable and beaming-happy this past week. More so than usual. If this trend of growing happiness continues I feel like I might be flying, floating with the breeze across the border into Canada. I’m sure there will be some challenges to bring me back to my feet and balance everything out, and that’s good.


Tonight I love this. Sometimes it’s one of the best things to love… a moment. It’s already passed, and there’s a new one to love already. It’s neverending. How great is that!?

image

A gorgeous valley on our way to our ridge camp.

image

Bryan - this one's for you. Your Hunny Bunny - such a great smile! :)

image

Really cool sign.

image

Trail party!

Thanks for reading and being a part of my journey!

With love,
Toots Magoots
(Robin Grapa)

One thought on “Day 103: Awaiting the stars

Leave a Reply

