Day 97: My biggest day – hour by hour

Sat. 7/27/13
32.3 miles! (Miles 1356.6 – 1388.9)
PCT Mile 1356.6 – Hat Creek Rim

image

Glorious.

Wow, I am tired! I just successfully hiked my longest day on the PCT. I am feeling great, considering – the aches, pains and fatigue were to be expected, so I’m not worried about them. I admit that I am super happy to be lying in my tent, though! Dark, ominous clouds are rolling in overhead, so I hope to not get struck by any lightning on this exposed Hat Creek Rim I’m camped on. I pray for a safe and restful sleep.

I decided to do another hour by hour on the PCT blog again like I did on day 64, and thankfully my phone cooperated! The idea behind doing this was to show a slideshow-type view of the trail and the day’s hike in photos, but not just of the things that stand out. Normally when I take a photo, it’s because of something pretty, unique, a good view, smiling faces… but there’s so much in between, too! My rule is to take a photo wherever I am on the hour, every hour. So here ya’ go!

5am: Still kinda’ waking up.

image

6am: Just passed a sleeping hiker in their tent and forded a river.

image

7am: I saw lots of deer, including one small fawn through this stretch of grassy prarie/meadow.

image

8am: At Twin Lakes. Met three really nice weekend hikers and enjoyed answering all kinds of PCT questions.

image

9am: I spot another hiker ahead – it’s Shotput! (She’s way up on the trail in the photo with her chrome dome umbrella open)

image

10am: Hiking through an old burn. I realized at this point that I’d hiked 11.4 miles already – over a 10×10 and on a good pace for a 30-mile day!

image

11am: Out of the burn area, and things are looking greener – and it’s getting hot out! Shotput and Kenobi are hiking behind me. I told Shotput I was thinking about trying for 30 miles and she encouraged me!

image

12pm: Hiking through pines towards Hat Creek… where I planned to beat the heat with a quick swim… and did just that.

image

1pm: Still resting at Hat Creek after my swim.

image

2pm: HOT sun and sandy trails are making me tired!

image

3pm: Junction for the Spatter Cones Trail. I thought it said Sputter Cows Trail at first, and I laughed at myself.

image

4pm: At the trail for Subway Cave – .4 miles off the PCT and our last water for 30 miles.

image

5pm: Back from Subway Cave for water. I’m a dummy, or maybe just slightly delirious from heat – I go all the way down there, fill up my water and completely forget to check out the cave. Shoot!

image

6pm: Up on the Hat Creek Rim. Thankfully it’s cooling off. This section is famous on the PCT for being hot, dry and waterless. I saw many lizards and one garder snake. Oh, and some cows.

image

7pm: Still hiking Hat Creek Rim. Getting VERY tired. Can’t wait for camp… and there’s rain clouds building up on the horizon.

image

8pm: CAMP! I arrived right at 8pm. Whew!

image

9pm: Cold mashers, Nutter Butters, Little Debbie cherry pie (I haven’t had one of those in years!), and some Snickers for dinner… teeth brushed… time for blog & bed.

image


Tonight I love laying down. It’s the best reward after a good, long, tough hiking day.

image

Twin Lakes

image

I love hiking during quiet mornings!

image

Crappy that someone shot it, but I thought it looked cool anyway.

image

Cool seedling thingy.

image

Sunset and Mt. Shasta way off in the distance!

Thanks for reading and being a part of my journey!

With love,
Toots Magoots
(Robin Grapa)

One thought on “Day 97: My biggest day – hour by hour

Leave a Reply

