Day 86: An on-trail birthday

Tue. 7/16/79
7 miles (Miles 1197.6 – 1204.6)
Sierra City – PCT Mile 1204.6

image

The trees above our tent

Oh, town mornings… Aloha and I slept in until about 8am. We took our time packing up and showering, but we were ready to check out of our cute motel room by 10. Sierra City is a nice little historic mining town with a population of about 300 people, and it’s about 1/2 mile long. We could walk back and forth from the Red Moose Inn where Tears stayed (and where my b-day party was last night), our motel, the post office,  and the country store… which we did a lot.

We managed to wash a load of laundry, resupply toiletries and food, shop, eat a ginormous and delicious breakfast burrito from the store deli (soooo good!), chase the box that my parents sent for my birthday (which for some annoying and unknown reason is stuck in Reno and makes me sad), plan our next section, and finally get back on trail for 7 miles. We got a lot done, but it felt like it took forever to get going.

Right out of town we started a long, gradual climb. I felt really tired and my pack was feeling way too heavy, but we just pushed on. The beauty of the blue and green-draped valleys around us were enough distraction that we just hiked from 4pm until 7pm without a break. We leapfrogged with King Street and Bird Dog and set up camp with them next to a spring that is running with cold, refreshing water. The first spring marked on our map was dry, so we were happy this one was running.

image

Hiking along the mountain ridge gave us views like this one of the valley

Camping was hard to find, too, and it made me almost wish we’d have been able to get on the trail sooner so we could have gotten a little further – but we didn’t know what to expect then. Oh, well. We’re on a pretty flat spot by a spring, with some really cool people – Brad and Melissa showed up here, too – and Bird Dog just said he hears a bear down the hill working on ripping up a tree. It might be a fun night of taking turns hollering at a bear… our food’s in a tree, so I don’t think he’ll be interested in us, but if he comes up by us, I’ll try to get a photo!

image

For my birthday last night, Bryan (Blueberry?) and Hunny Bunny gave me a trail dinner for my birthday. I was leary – it was eggplant punjab, which is an Indian dish. We ate it over plain rice tonight and it was absolutely fantastic! I’d even go as far to say it’s been one of my favorite trail meals so far, even! Thanks Bryan (Fruit Basket?) and Hunny Bunny! :-)

Since today is my birthday, I hiked in my birthday getup… hat, “birthday girl” ribbon, whoopie cushion, and balloon. Once we got out of the woods the wind picked up, so the balloon needed to be deflated in the fear that I’d unintentionally become a litterbug. So I cut a slit in it, sucked out the helium and sang myself a little “happy birthday” song, chipmunk-style. I know it’s not good for me, but boy was it fun! It’s been years since I’ve done that!

image

My birthday getup


Tonight I love punjab. Who’d of known!?

image

Love this ridge and the views it gave us this afternoon!

image

image

Bird Dog at camp. Another amazing sunset through the woods.

Thanks for reading and being a part of my journey!

With love,
Toots Magoots
(Robin Grapa)

Leave a Reply

