Day 64: Hour by hour on the PCT

Mon. 6/24/13
24 miles (Miles 882.7 – 906.7)
Silver Pass Creek – Red’s Meadow

I did something a little different today, but I’m not sure it was the best day to do it because of the weather we had. I took a photo of the trail in front of me every hour – on the hour – no matter what the scene was.

I always have a purpose for every photo I take – a breathtaking scene, a pretty flower, a silly face… I thought it might be interesting to look back and remember what it was like to hike today, but not just the parts that stuck out.

It was a fun experiment, and it was hard sometimes because I’d just pass a great trail scene, but it wasn’t on the hour yet… so I waited for the hour to turn. We had a cloudy day that brought us a little snow up high, then drizzly rain all afternoon that soaked us to the bone. We were socked-in clouds most of the day, too. I hope to do this again a couple of times on the hike. Maybe I’ll hit a day when I have more variety in terrain, trails, and it’s not so darned cloudy! But for now… here it is:

image

7am. Been hiking for 15 minutes. It's cloudy and feels misty... might rain.

image

8am. Rocky, open trail at Silver Pass. I'm getting excited because I know there's views on the other side!

image

9am. Seeing some great mountains through the trees, but more clouds are moving in and we're getting bouts of snow!

image

10am. The trail takes us along a loud, rushing river. Thankfully there was a bridge for crossing this one!

image

11am. Steep slope to our left... and it's getting cloudier out.

image

12pm. Trails are looking very much the same today. Almost time for lunch!

image

1pm. Lunch at Purple Lake. That's my soaked pack cover drying on the trail sign.

image

2pm. Climbed up high again, patches of snow, and we're losing our views due to clouds.

image

3pm. We've now just hiked right into the cloud. Pretty!

image

4pm. Still in that cloud! Tears is in front of me but I can barely see her. It's raining pretty steadily now, too.

image

5pm. The rain is making my photos fuzzy. We are totally soaked and chilled - we decide to haul buns to civilization at this point!

image

6pm. The trail has brought us to a burn from '92. We are almost to Red's Meadow! A cafe with a hot drink! Ohmygosh!

image

7pm. Over 20 miles in the Sierras warrants a hot drink... and a beer. Whew!

It’s ineresting for me to look back and see how our weather changed through the day. I’m excited to try this again later, on a nicer day. I also might do a series of short videos one day and have Aloha put them all together on Youtube so you can “hike with Toots Magoots” for a day. I hope the hour-by-hour today wasn’t too boring!

Here’s some of the shots I took between the hours – they aren’t all I took, of course!

image

A pretty flower-scattered meadow with a lake.

image

The rain makes everything so vibrant!

image

It's snowing!

image

Pretties!

image

900 miles! Whoa!


Tonight I love the rain. It’s hard work to backpack in it, but it sure makes everything more vibrant!

5 thoughts on “Day 64: Hour by hour on the PCT

  1. Great idea! I’m going to try this the next time I’m out on a long day. A friend was asking me where I find all these hikes in WA that get you right up in the alpine straight away, because that’s what he had seen in my photos…that’s when I realized that I never take/share photos from the 3000+ feet of thick forest we have to gain at the beginning of almost every hike. :) A photo every hour will be a more honest representation of my day.

  2. Robin I love the photos they are great.Looks like you are really enjoying your journey.Love You.Be safe and have fun.

Leave a Reply

