Day 37: Dear PCT…

Tue. 5/28/13
0 miles, currently at Mile 485.7 at the Red Carpet Cache

image

Red Carpet Cache. Camp for tonight.

Another zero day… sigh. We made it through LA’s busy traffic and I got to my appointment just in time. After that we got rerouted through some windy roads way above the city because all the ramps we wanted to take to the highway were closed for some reason. We were on our way to REI… it took about an hour but we finally made it.

I exchanged my shoes for a new pair a half size larger – a size 10! I also got my new Superfeet. Got rid of the pink that caused me some callus issues and replaced them with shiny new green ones. Those pinks ones have a large seam right in the middle of my front foot-pad… right where my feet are so tender. The green don’t have this seam at all, so I’m very excited to hike in them and see how it goes! And they smell so pretty! This is the only time I will stick my nose in my shoes – when they are brand new.

image

Old shoes and new shoes!

We got a few groceries, had lunch and got back to the trailhead where we left off. We were parked on the side of the road and that’s where we organized and resupplied ourselves. It was a little windy and chaotic, but we eventually got too much food overstuffed into our food bags. I guess we’re ready to go tomorrow! I hope we eat a lot!

image

Roadside resupplying

I had some good, deepish thoughts today as we bumped around the busy city and watched everyone around us rushing this way and that to get wherever they needed to be.

As my title states… this is how it started in my thoughts:

Dear PCT, in the words of Jason Mraz,
“I won’t hesitate no more, it cannot wait, I’m yours.”

Yes, PCT, I am yours.

I was remembering back to when this whole thing was just an idea… something I wanted to do sooo bad, but just didn’t know how I’d ever be able to make it happen. I would be sitting at my desk at work, closing my eyes while listening to one of my favorite songs that makes me want to go do things, and picturing myself on the Pacific Crest Trail. I did that a LOT.

And here I am. On the PCT. Wow. Sometimes it just hits, and it feels really good. It’s a very satisfying feeling.

Keep workin’ at those dreams, my peeps! It’s so totally worth it!


So tonight I love seeing dreams being fulfilled… and I’m not just referring to my PCT dream, but all of yours too!

Go do!

3 thoughts on “Day 37: Dear PCT…

  1. Good thoughts, good advice! I’d like to believe the more I see myself on the trail (PCT/AT/etc) the more likely I am to manifest those dreams into reality.

Leave a Reply

