Day 33: Even more low-key!

Fri. 5/24/13
0 miles
Currently at PCT Mile 444.2, at Soledad Canyon Road

image

Cannonballs!

Today felt like a real zero day. I hiked zero miles, I stressed about zero things, and did zero things I didn’t feel like doing. I even accomplished zero of the things on my to-do list. Okay, I did one thing – planned food with Tears for the next 2-day stretch. But that felt like zero work. I’m getting way better at this zero day relaxing thing.

See?

image

Lounging at the motel pool. Zero hard work.

All I did today was sleep in until 9am, take my time getting ready to go… to breakfast. Tears, Jon, Aloha and I went to Crazy Otto’s and I ate half of a giant 6-egg omelet. Then we shopped for bread and cheese, then got back to the motel and sorted food, and then we all enjoyed the pool and hot tub. After that Aloha and I went to Cold Stone Creamery for ice cream, picked up some wingies to go, and now we’re sitting back at the motel room watching mindless tv.

As nice as today was, I’m excited to get on the trail tomorrow. I know, I say that a lot… I really love hiking! Good thing, hey!? :)

Oh, and I officially have a sweet little kiss mark from the poodle dog bush. I have one welt on my calf that I thought was a bug bite at first… but bug bites don’t spread. Sigh… it’s not bad though. It’s only about the size of a quarter and I’m doing really good at not scratching it. I also have a line of about 8 small bumps on my knee. I hope those just go away. I’m so glad that plant won’t come up on the trail anymore! Now we just need to watch for the deadly mojave green rattlers! Trading one risk for another!

image

This photo is a super-weird perspective, but check out my poodle dog bump... annoying!

Tonight I love stupid tv. Nothing shuts my brain down for relaxation better… except for maybe hiking.

image

More pool time with Aloha

image

Even my gear/food piles are more organized.

One thought on “Day 33: Even more low-key!

  1. The Poodle Dog sounds like no fun at all. Below is what the giant book at my desk says about the Poodle Dog, although it refers to it as Turricula parryi. Hope it gets better quick!

    Topical symptomatic therapy — Soothing measures such as oatmeal baths and cool, wet compresses are anecdotally helpful. Topical treatment with compounds containing menthol and phenol (calamine lotion) may also provide symptomatic relief. Topical astringents such as aluminum acetate (Burow’s solution) or aluminum sulfate calcium acetate (Domeboro®) used under occlusion may be useful to dry weeping lesions. A soap mixture of ethoxylate and sodium lauroyl sarcosinate surfactants (marketed as Zanfel™) may also be of benefit [30].

    Topical antihistamines, anesthetics containing benzocaine, and antibiotics containing neomycin or bacitracin should be avoided because of their own allergenic potential.

    Pimecrolimus, a topical calcineurin inhibitor, is ineffective for the treatment of Toxicodendron-induced allergic contact dermatitis.

    Antihistamines — Although there is little to no evidence to support their use, sedating and non-sedating oral antihistamines are commonly used to try to reduce pruritus. However, the itching in dermatitis is not caused by histamine release. Relief that patients derive from oral antihistamines is primarily due to the sedating effects of certain antihistamines. We do not use nonsedating antihistamines at all in the management of dermatitis, but we find sedating antihistamines occasionally beneficial for those who have difficulty sleeping due to pruritus

Leave a Reply

