Day 29: Solo day

Mon. 5/20/13
24.4 miles (Miles 394.4 – 418.8)
PCT Mile 394.4 – Mill Creek Summit Fire Station

image

A really cool old sign

I said a “see ya in a few days” to Jon and Tears this morning and head out for my first solo hiking day. I only saw six people all day while hiking, and that was before 9am. I had the rest  of the day to myself, my thoughts, and a bunch of random songs that kept getting stuck in my head.

I felt really strong hiking this morning, so I made an early decision to see what I could do and give ‘er. I was really close to the possibility of 10 x 10, which is a term used on the trail for 10 miles by 10am. It’s a pretty common thing when trying to beat the heat. I wasn’t really too worried about beating the heat today – I just thought it would be a fun goal to shoot for.

I didn’t make it. I hit the 10-mile mark around 11am… so close! I was okay with that. Maybe tomorrow. If my feet hold up I might just shoot for the hiker-friendly KOA, but that would be a 25-mile day. We shall see!

I was actually hoping to hike until 6:30pm and just see how far I could get, but this fire station lets us hikers sleep next to the building. There’s water here, as well as a toilet. It was too hard to pass up – and I got here at 5:00. In just the last 15 minutes the hiker population here went from 3 to about 12. I’m meeting a lot of new people, but I don’t know that I’ll remember everyone’s names!

image

Trail

I had quite a lot of poodle dog bush to navigate again today, and there’s even more tomorrow.  I’m not a big fan of road-walking, but if it’s going to be worse than today I just might opt to take the dirt road alternate. I’ll decide when I get there.

image

Darned poodle dog!

I did the poodle dog dance today, but I got to a point where I actually had to stop and put on my rain pants. This is not a comfortable thing to do in hot, sunny weather, but I guess it’s better than the alternative. There were a couple of places the bush was on both sides of the trail and touching, and one place in particular had a spot where previous hikers went downhill (steeply!) to go around it. I had a scare when I tried to follow suit. I stepped on a rock that felt sturdy, but it gave way in the loose, sandy gravel and I slid downhill with it about 2 feet, stopping with the side of my foot at the base of another stupid poodle dog plant. I was able to crawl back up without incident. Just glad I stopped before sliding all the way into the canyon!

Poodle dog bush is a bummer, but it means there was a burn, and that leaves behind lots of little, vibrant wildflowers, so there’s always a silver lining… right?

image

Flowers!

I was really hoping for a peaceful night on the trail by myself, but I guess that’ll have to wait for another night. And after several discussions with the other hikers staying here, it sounds like the road-walk is the popular choice. None of us want to miss the trail, but dancing and crawling at 1mph all trying to avoid a terrible blistery rash sounds exhausting and kind of miserable. But I’ll have more thinkin’ time tomorrow – that’ll be good!

OH! I passed by the 400-mile mark today! Wow…

image

400 miles! Woo-hoo!

Tonight I love the hole in my hiking shoe. It’s going to be hard to let go of the first pair.

image

Mmmm, meat. Thanks Randall!

image

Thanks, Andy Gump... whoever you are!

image

Views!

One thought on “Day 29: Solo day

Leave a Reply

