Reflecting on starting a thru hike

With this hike starting tomorrow, my emotions are… well, I don’t know. As we drove toward Lake Morena Campground where we’re camped tonight, we saw road signs with town names we recognized from trail research: El Cajon, Laguna Mountain, Julian… and when I saw those I got a little flutter in my tummy. It kind of felt like I’m so excited that I can’t express it yet. Maybe that’s because I don’t know how. It’s big… I think my crazy urge to pee… or poo… at that moment is just my body’s way of being excited… unfortunately for me! I guess I just hope this passes  before tomorrow! Otherwise I may hit a day #1 cathole record!

So, anyway…

The plan was to sort of figure out where my head was today so I’d be emotionally ready for tomorrow, but I think I’ve just decided to let it all ride and what happens happens. Tears, smiles, emergency trips to random bushes… whatever.

So with all this excitement coming up, I started a list of the things I’m excited about. I’m sure I’m missing a ton, but here’s a start:

-Eating a lot and not gaining weight
-Losing my road trip pounds/beer belly
-Sleeping under the stars
-Not having to go back to work on Monday
-Living with only what’s on my back
-Constant exercise
-All food tasting way better than normal
-Not taking little things for granted – flushy toilets, hot showers, a bed, pillows, and water from a tap
-Beauty. Everywhere. Every day.
-Tough climbs
-Foot rubs (if I’m so lucky!)
-Hiking with my best [girl] friend (Rachel’s pretty awesome!)
-Making new friends
-Sunrises, sunsets and a new horizon every day
-Wildlife encounters
-Breaks
-Food and eating it
-Climbing Mt. Whitney
-Getting dirty
-Being so lucky to see Adam every few days! ♡
-Trail magic
-All the beards
-Less facebook
-Blogging/writing/journaling/sketching
-The elements. All of ’em.
-Calming down and finding my center on a daily basis
-Food and eating more of it
-Prayerful prayer
-Quiet
-The sound of footsteps
-Breezes
-Embracing all my senses
-Backpacking ♥

I know there’s more, even though that’s already a lot, but I’ve been adding to this list since I left home. I have all this, plus so much unknown, to hike towards…

…and that is why I’m so excited.

I don’t know what else to say.  Day #1 blog tomorrow. For now, my view as I type this:

Thank you all for reading and all the support you’ve all given me! I couldn’t do this kind of stuff alone… I love you!

4 thoughts on “Reflecting on starting a thru hike

  1. Beauty everywhere every day, store it in your brain, I know you will! Prayerful prayer, God go with you, I know he will! Take care girlie girl, sometimes you gotta shut that thing off and just hike.: )

  2. Congratulations on the start of your journey. You begin exactly 9 years to the day as Sisu and I began our thru-hike. Not surprising, since we also timed our start with the ADZPCTKOP. Love the journals so far. You have already seen so much and enjoyed connecting with the tight-knit trail community. I look forward to following your adventures. By the way, I check your blog every few days from the sleeper berth of a semi as I wait to get a load in Wauwatosa, WI.

  3. I so happy for you. On Wednesday I leave home to get back on the American Discovery Trail. May the Lord be with you each step that you take.

Leave a Reply

